A Walk Through Trastevere

img_1646-1Trastevere is considered the hippest area of Rome. I was fortunate enough to get an apartment right in the heart of it. On weekend mornings my roommates and I would go to our favorite little cafe hidden in Trastevere’s winding streets. It’s called Meccanismo and I couldn’t resist taking a picture of the coffee I ordered because I mean, look at how beautiful that is! The coffee I ordered was called the Meccanismo and if you are a chocolate lover and coffee addict like me, I guarantee you would love the Meccanismo.

Besides the little hidden cafes and unique shops, Trastevere always had something going on at night. One time after dinner we came across a large gathering in the square where there was a large TV screen for Italian fans to watch the World Cup game that evening. It was convenient to be able to get a drink or some gelato from a shop nearby and watch the game at the same time. There are usually a lot of street performers in that square at night to. Sometimes you never know what you are going to stumble across when in Trastevere.

And don’t even get me started on the food!! If you plan on going to Trastevere, you have to promise me one thing. And that is that you go to dinner one night at Roma Sparita. Unless you are a local, there is no way you can get a table if you just show up. So make sure you make a reservation the day before to guarantee yourself a table because you aren’t going to want to miss out on this. When I went there I had to try their specialty, which is Cacio e Pepe. This dish is freshly made pasta sprinkled with parmesan on top and served in a bowl made out of parmesan cheese. It is out of this world amazing!

I hope you find Trastevere as magical as I did. And remember, Get Lost in Italy.

love,

-T

One thought on “A Walk Through Trastevere

Leave a Reply

