The Art of Pasta Making

img_1673“When in Rome” they say! And that’s exactly what my roommate and I said when we signed up to take a pasta-making class. We didn’t think our Italian experience would be complete had we not learned the Italian way. We signed up online through Walks of Italy and we looked forward to our class all week long.

The day finally came, and I had made sure to not overeat so I could save room for enjoying  my culinary perfection that night. After class, I wandered into some Piazza with my google maps trying to find the studio apartment where my class was located. I walked up and down a street a few times until an American couple looked at me and asked in if I was looking for the class too. My roommate called for me when I passed the wrong little curvy street and we finally made it.

The class was so big that half of us had to be directed to another apartment which was about a 5 minute walk(not bad for walking in Europe). As I followed the guide, she pointed to the rooftop of a building ahead of us and said, “There it is!” My roommate and I had butterflies in our stomachs because we had dreamed about visiting one of the rooftop terraces d. We got into the building and had to take a couple flight of stairs up to the apartment. Then inside the apartment we had to go up a twisted and narrow set of stairs to get to the roof.

Everything was so surreal, so dreamy, so perfect. The sun was just setting, and the view over Rome was unbelievable. And on top of that we were served bottomless prosecco and bruschetta 🙂

We were each given our own work station with three simple ingredients in front of us: flour, egg, and olive oil. The first step was to put a cup of flour on our board and bundle it all together to make a hill. Then you stick your finger in the middle of it and start swirling towards the edges to make a volcano. (note: it is very important that you have strong walls of you volcano!) Then we dropped the egg in the mouth of the volcano and put a tablespoon of olive oil in. Next was the the most tedious part because you have to mix but making sure to slowly take in the edges of the volcano, adding flour little by little. Next we kneed the dough with the palms of our hands.img_1669

After we made the dough, we had to store it in the fridge for about 20 minutes, but the teachers suggested you leave the dough for about a day or multiple hours. When our dough was ready we stretched it through the pasta making machines, each at a new level. Then we got a harp-like instrument out to lay the flat dough on, then it cut the dough into fettuccine sizes. We took our new noodles and let them dry (as pictured above), then made our sauces for our meal. We also were taught to make raviolis, but those were a little trickier!

When our pasta was served to us it was one of my top 5 meals in Italy that I absolutely enjoyed.

Note: We got certificates after the class and the full recipes for everything we learned to make that evening!

Happy pasta-making!

love,

-T

Leave a Reply

